The “MAPFRE Challenge” recognized as the Best Project of the year 2013 by the Terras Gauda National Sailing Awards

· The Volvo Open 70 MAPFRE set a new record on Christopher Columbus’ Route of the Discovery of America, between Palos de la Frontera (Huelva) and San Salvador (Bahamas)

Directed by Pedro Campos from Galicia and captained by Fernando Echávarri, the crew spent 11 days, 7 hours, 38 minutes and 40 seconds crossing the Atlantic

· The awards ceremony will take place at the Monte Real Club de Yates de Bayona on September 6 as part of the celebration of the XXIX Prince of Asturias Trophy

On February 22, 2013, 11 days 7 hours, 38 minutes and 40 seconds after leaving Palos de la Frontera, and 521 years after Christopher Columbus stepped on it in 1492, the Volvo Open 70 MAPFRE, with flags from the Real Club Náutico de Sanxenxo and the Monte Real Club de Yates de Bayona, arrived in San Salvador (Bahamas).

The crew did not shout the famous “Land in sight!”, but the sailors were aware of their feat. With 5,296 miles traveled at an average speed of 19.5 knots, the Desafio MAPFRE had fulfilled its objective.

The Royal Spanish Sailing Federation was in charge of registering, endorsing the times, and declaring the new Atlantic record on the Route of the Discovery of America achieved by the Desafío MAPFRE team. A crew led by the 14-time world champion Pedro Campos and captained by the Olympic champion Fernándo Echávarri, which also included the commodore of the Monte Real Yacht Club, Miguel Lago, who had already participated in the first edition of the Route Discovery in 1984, aboard the “Santa María”.

The MAPFRE Challenge was also an ambassador for the Colombian Peoples (Baiona, Santa Fe de Granada and Palos de la Frontera) candidacy for World Heritage status, promoted with the aim of giving international projection to the places of discovery and preserving their artistic and cultural heritage.

For all these reasons, the jury of the National Sailing Awards decided to distinguish Desafío MAPFRE as the Best Project of 2013. The crew of the Volvo Open 70 will collect the award at the ceremony that will take place on September 6 at the Monte Real Club de Yates de Bayonne, within the framework of the XXIX Trofeo Príncipe de Asturias.

Photo: Maria Muina