The J80 face the final stretch of the Winter League

Regatera appointment this Saturday in Baiona with the J80 fleet that competes in the Winter League organized by the Monte Real Club de Yates exclusively for these one-design boats.

Starting at three in the afternoon, the twelve participating crews will compete in three new tests in what is already the fifth and penultimate day of competition. They will do it in a regatta field located inside the bay, with weather conditions that are announced to be perfect for sailboat navigation.

The forecast is that the wind will blow from the northeast with an intensity that will not drop below ten knots and could even reach eighteen. In addition, the sun will shine, which will allow the public that approaches the Monte Boi peninsula or the surrounding beaches to enjoy the competition with very good visibility.

In this final stretch of the Winter League there are two boats that arrive with an outstanding position in the classification. They are the Okofen by Javier de la Gándara from Vigo, and the Miúdo by Storax by the Portuguese Francisca Barros. The Galician boat is still in the lead after winning practically all the races held so far, but the Portuguese team managed to close the gap and on the last day it was 10 points behind the leader.

Enrique Porto’s Ferralemes and Miguel Lago’s Virazón, skippered by Javier Rey in the last stages, are fighting for third position separated by just three points. They are followed in the classification, although at a greater distance, by the Cansino, the Mondo, the Pazo de Cea, the Namasté, the Luna Nueva, the Marías, the Alumisel and the Náutico Cormorán.


  1. Okofen – Javier de la Gandara (10 points)
  2. Miudo by Storax – Francisca Barros (20 points)
  3. Ferralemes – Enrique Porto (36 points)
  4. Virazón – Javier Rey (39 points)
  5. Tired – José de la Gándara (49 points)
  6. Mondo – Bernardo Macedo (57 points)
  7. Pazo de Cea – María Campos (70 points)
  8. Namasté – Luis de Mira (72 points)
  9. New Moon – Juan Luis Tuero (77 points)
  10. Marias – Manuel Maria Cunha (102 points)
  11. Alumisel – Willy Caamaño (109 points)
  12. Nautical Cormorant – Francisco Javier Martínez (111 points)