The Bayonne Yacht Club ready to celebrate the XXVIII edition of the Prince of Asturias Trophy

The Monte Real Club de Yates de Bayona and the Naval Regatta Commission of the Naval Military School of Marín are the organizers of the XXVIII Prince of Asturias Trophy – SAR Don Felipe de Borbón y Grecia Regatta, one of the most important sporting events in the vast Spanish sailing panorama and which has the technical collaboration of the Royal Spanish and Galician Sailing Federations.

During the 6th, 7th and 8th of September, the Bay of Baiona and the Ría de Vigo host the sports development of the events scheduled for each of the Classes convened in this 2013 event: ORC 0, 1, 2 and 3; ORC Special; Monotypes; Classics; Maxi Open, Ladies Cup and First 40.7, which will host 2 national titles and one international, with the start of the Spanish ORC Cruise Championships, First 40.7 and the grand final of the Atlantic Cruise Circuit.

The merger between Portugal and Spain is still latent with the celebration of the aforementioned Circuit and the prized Don Juan de Borbón Trophy, which rewards the best Portuguese boat in the Royal Regatta, created in memory of the grandfather of HRH Don Felipe de Borbón, Honorary President of the Monte Real being, in addition, the Prince of Asturias Trophy phase scoring for the Xunta de Galicia President Trophy.

Since 1986, the Bayonne Yacht Club and the Military Naval School of Marín annually encourage and reinforce the development of the Prince of Asturias Trophy, providing it with content that promotes and disseminates the rich Galician maritime culture with a classic and traditional style, and the great challenges yachts of the best Spanish and Portuguese sailing fleets.

In its concern for each of the Divisions that will take part in this edition of the Prince of Asturias Trophy, the organization has drawn up a complete Regatta Announcement that contemplates the execution of various tests, protecting the navigation style of the boats that attend Baiona.

For the ORC 0-1-2-3, Monotypes and Ladies Cup, the development of 6 tasks is planned during the three days, all of them arranged to the wind, that is, technical routes between windward-leeward type buoys, each test treasuring the skill and skill of skippers and crews due to the constant work on board each boat, with precise maneuvers in tacks and gybes, and where the chosen board decides the success or the possible errors that the tacticians may undertake when charting the appropriate course, a difficult decision taking into account the limited margin of the routes.

The Classics, which have a different configuration, will undertake coastal routes, two in their entirety, one on Saturday, the day on which their participation begins, and another on Sunday. Of showy beauty are boats built more than 30 years ago, some of them with true seafaring tradition that keep thousands of nautical miles traveled in their shiny frames and complex ropes, propelled by their no less spectacular rags in the wind. They will be joined by the Special ORC, sailboats that sail only touring, without technical routes to respect their original hydrodynamic composition and sail design.

The Maxi Open, which will share the starting line with the ORC, are sailboats with large wingspans in their sails, and with lengths that exceed 20 meters, entering the scene from Saturday, with medium-distance coastal routes.

The 6 First Figaros of the Novagalicia Banco del Monte Real Cruise School will be the monotype boats with which the Helga Rivera Ladies Cup will be held, similar boats that will provide technical equality to the 6 female crews that are mentioned in this edition of the Prince Trophy of Asturias, representing the communities of Madrid, Cantabria, Valencia and Galicia.

The collection of the Instructions of the XXVIII Prince of Asturias Trophy and the contribution of the documentation required by each participating boat, will be carried out in the Regatta Office that will open its doors on Thursday, September 5, from ten in the morning to eight in the evening.

The times of each test and on each day will be determined by the Classes in which each sailboat has registered. Thus, the ORC and the Ladies Cup will begin on Friday, September 6 at 3:55 p.m.; on Saturday the 7th at 11:55 a.m.; and on Sunday 8 also at 11:55 am. The ORC Special and Classics will have their first Top on Saturday at 12:25 p.m.; and on Sunday at 11:55 a.m. The Maxi Open will hear their horn at 11.55 am, both on Saturday and Sunday.

During the course of the XXVIII Prince of Asturias Trophy, the annual gala for the 2012 Terras Gauda National Sailing Awards will be held on Saturday, September 8 at 8:00 p.m. Precisely today the winners of the second block were announced. The work of Vicente García, owner of the Plis Play, a Swan 80 and an X35, among others, has been recognized as the Best Regatta Team, and they participate every year in innumerable intercontinental competitions, their successes in regattas such as the Route de la Sal, the Copa del Rey or the Fastnet, among others.

Turismo Rías Baixas – Deputación de Pontevedra has also been recognized for its efforts to promote the sport of sailing, sponsoring specialty events in various modalities, both dinghy sailing and cruising, with the jury acknowledging its commitment to adapted sailing.

Lastly, and after analyzing the sporting merits of the boats participating in Spanish competitions, and seeking a balance between results and participation, the Cenor, in the grouped Division of 0-1, and the You elbowed, in 2-3.

The winners in the 7 chosen categories are:

  • Project of the Year: Pakea Bizkaia
  • Sailor of the Year: Támara Echegoyen
  • ORC 0-1 Boat of the Year: Cenor
  • ORC 2-3 Boat of the Year: Codaste
  • Best Regatta Team: Plis Play
  • Institution with the greatest support for the sport of sailing: Turismo Rías Baixas
  • Mariano Aguado of Communication: Panorama Productions

The development of the XXVIII Prince of Asturias Trophy will be possible thanks to the sponsorship of Turismo de Galicia, Turismo Rías Baixas and Bodegas Terras Gauda, with the collaboration of Helga Rivera, Hofmann, Verti, Tamqueray, Coca Cola, Solventis and TVG, among many others. .

Ownership of classes and prizes is established as follows:

  • Don Juan de Borbón Award – Ramada Trophy
  • Rías Baixas Tourism Trophy for Classic and Vintage Boats
  • Helga Rivera Ladies Cup
  • Maxi Open Hofmann Trophy
  • ORC TVG Trophy 0
  • ORC Terras Gauda Trophy 1
  • ORC Swiss Jewelery Trophy 2
  • ORC 3 Solventis Trophy
  • Special ORC Galician Sports Trophy
  • Verti Spanish Championship of ORC and First 40.7
  • I Atlantic Cruise Circuit – Tourism of Galicia


For the informative follow-up of the XXVIII Prince of Asturias Trophy, as well as the scheduled social events, the media will have two boats, one for editors and another light type for graphics.

The boarding plan for each day will be communicated to the editorial offices beforehand, and it is essential to be correctly accredited.

The Monte Real enables a Press Office that will have all the necessary technical means for the development of optimal work.

For any query in this regard, the Yacht Club makes available a consultation telephone number through 986 385000 or directly to the Club’s communication manager, Juan Caballero on 629 854617.