Solventis plenary session at the XXVIII edition of the Prince of Asturias Trophy

Solventis plenary session at the XXVIII edition of the Prince of Asturias Trophy. The sailboat, built by the Moro brothers, and skippered by Malalo Bermúdez de Castro, from A Coruña, has won all the tests of the Terras Gauda Trophy of ORC 1, the only undefeated boat in this edition of the regatta organized by the Monte Real Club of Bayonne Yachts and the Naval Regatta Commission of the Naval Military School of Marin.

The success of the 2013 edition was guaranteed from the first day, where the Committee validated the two tasks of that first day. But the north wind became a true ally, carrying an average of 14 knots every day, allowing the organization to complete the 6 windward-leeward regatta announcements for the ORC and Ladies Cup classes, and the two coastal ones for the Special, Classic and Period and the Maxi Open.

The appointment was the Spanish Championship – Verti Trophy for several of the modalities, with triumphs in this sporting framework for Mirfak in ORC 0, by Diego López, of the Ferrol Naval Regatta Commission; for Solventis, from Bermúdez de Castro (MRCYB) in ORC 1; for Movistar, by Pedro Campos, from the Real Club Náutico de Sanxenxo, in ORC2; for Luna Nueva, by Juan Luís Tuero (MRCYB) in ORC 3; with the victory in the national First 40.7 for the Starfighter, by Julio Rodríguez, of the Real Club Náutico de Vigo, ending the awards ceremony with the 1st Atlantic Cruise Circuit – Tourism of Galicia, which has been won by Fifty, by Rui Ramada of the MRCYB.

The podium by Divisions was made up, in the ORC 0 TVG Trophy, by Rui Ramada’s Fifty, from the MRCYB, with 9 points and winner of the Don Juan de Borbón Trophy, which awards the best Portuguese boat in the Príncipe de Asturias, and also winner of the I Atlantic Cruise Circuit. Second was also Portuguese Xekmatt, led by José Carlos Prista, from the Lisbon Naval Association, with 22 points. And third, Mirfak, by Diego López, from the Ferrol CNR.

In the Terras Gauda Trophy of ORC 1, Solventis surprised by its excellent condition. The sailboat skippered by Malalo Bermúdez de Castro, from MRCY Bayona, finished with 6 points. Second was Ozoaqua Cosmética, by Juan Carlos Pérez, from CN Combarro, with 17 points. And third was Dom Pedro Hotels/Generali PT, by Javier Santander, from CN Punta Lagoa, with 20 points.

The ORC 2 Swiss Jewelry Trophy went to Pedro Campos with Movistar, from RCN Sanxenxo, with 9 points. It was followed by Okofen, by Javier de la Gándara, from MRCY Bayona, with 13 points. And the bronze position went to Cachete, by Francisco Edreira, also from CN Sada, with 22.5 points.

The ORC 3 Solventis Trophy was won by Luna Nueva, owned by Juan Luís Tuero, from the MRCY Bayona, with 7 points, another of the leading boats in the Príncipe de Asturias Trophy, with wins in 5 of the 6 races. Punta Lagoa School, by Alberto Iglesias, from CN Punta Lagoa, was second with 13 points. And third place was occupied by Namaste, by Luís de Mira from the MRYCB, with 19 points.

The Helga Rivera Ladies Cup was validated by the women from Madrid directed by Amparo Molla, who hung with 6 points, of which 5 first. After the girls from the Madrid Federation came the locals of María Campos, from the MRCYB, with 9 points. And third were Conchi de Pedro from Castellón, from CR Burriana, with 21 points.

On the second day of the Classic and Vintage boats, the Rías Baixas Tourism Trophy definitely went to the Pingüino, by Ñaco Eraso, from CM Canido. It was followed by the Belisa, owned by José Manuel Cores, from AGABACE, and third was the Calua, owned by Juan Pablo Cividanes, also owned by Marítimo de Canido.

In the Specials, which also sailed the Galician Sports Trophy on its second day, Travesío, by César Martínez, of LC Vilagarcía, won. Second was Deep Blue, by Vicente Cid, from RCN Vigo. And third, the Firme, by Armando Rubio, of the Spanish Navy.

Finally, the Plis Play won the Maxi Open Hofmann Trophy. The Swan 80, owned by Vicente García, of the RCR Alicante, had no rival in this regatta. Second was the Gran Jotiti, by Ernesto Cortina, from the MRC Bayona. And third, Hansa, by Julián Ojea, from RCN La Coruña.

The event ended with the presence and support of representatives of the sponsoring and collaborating institutions and firms that have made the XXVIII Prince of Asturias Trophy possible, including Turismo de Galicia, Turismo Rías Baixas and Bodegas Terras Gauda, and the collaboration Helga Rivera, Hofmann, Verti, Tamqueray, Coca Cola, Solventis and TVG, among many others.