Happy Holidays

My dear friends,

Just a few words to express my cordial congratulations to all of you this Christmas, wish you a prosperous New Year and share with you the memory of some of the best moments lived at the Monte Real Club de Yates throughout 2014.

It has certainly been an intense year, but all the effort has been worth it, because the steps taken in recent months bring us a little closer to that ideal club that we continue to dream of being for all of you.

In this 2014 we have received a recognition of which we feel very proud. It is the distinction that, together with the blue flag, the ADEAC awarded us for the elimination of architectural barriers and work with disabled people. In addition, we have reorganized all our classic regattas. These would not have been possible without the invaluable help of the sponsors, to whom I want to express my most sincere gratitude.

I would also like to send a particularly affectionate greeting to all of you who have competed in them, contributing your sporting talent. I think of you, sailors, and also of the students of our Sailing School, who in a few years will star in these competitions. In your hands and in theirs is, without a doubt, the future of this wonderful sport.

I also want to convey to you my hopes that 2015 will be the one we all want. For the club it is a very special year, because we will celebrate several anniversaries in which, from now on, I invite you to participate. Half a century has passed since the creation of Monte Real, and two of our most emblematic regattas, the Count of Gondomar and the Prince of Asturias, are turning 40 and 30 years old, respectively. These are three events that we cannot fail to celebrate with you, invaluable companions on our journey through our history.

From the presidency of Monte Real, and on behalf of the board of directors and all the staff of the club, I send you our best wishes, wishing that these dates come full of happiness for you and your families, and that in 2015 they blow for all better winds.

Raphael Olmedo. President