El Pairo 8, champion of the Repsol Trophy

· The boat of the Real Club Náutico de Vigo skippered by Luis Bugallo won the trophy organized by the Monte Real Club de Yates this Sunday

· Aceites Abril from the nautical company from Vigo, Bosch Service Solutions from Canido and Margem do Azul from Baiona won in classes ORC 1, 2-3 and 4

· In the J80 one-design competition, victory went to Miguel Lago’s Virazón and Eva María Moreno’s Serralleiras won the Figaro class

The Pairo 8, from the Real Club Náutico de Vigo, is the new champion of the Repsol Trophy after winning this Sunday the thirty-ninth edition of the traditional spring regatta organized by the Monte Real Club de Yates.

With Luis Bugallo leading the team, the Pairo crew completed two great races in the two days of competition held this weekend in the Vigo and Pontevedra estuaries. If in the first stage those from Vigo were left with honey on their lips by achieving third place in their class, in the second they came out to sentence and managed to take the victory.

They ousted their clubmates from Aceites Abril, who had been leaders of the competition, from the podium of the general classification, and who finally failed to take home the great trophy but did take a well-deserved first place in the ORC 1 class. The boat owned by Luis and Jorge Pérez Canal came first in the classification of the big boats, followed by the Pairo and the Fifty by Storax Innovation of the Monte Real Club de Yates, skippered by Rui Ramada.

In the general ORC 2-3, Bosch Service Solutions won the gold. Those from the Club Marítimo de Canido, led by Ramón Ojea, were on the verge of winning in the first coastal one between Baiona and Sanxenso, and in the second, back to Baiona, they did not miss the opportunity to emerge victorious. They left the silver and bronze of the championship to Fend la Bise by Jean Claude Sarrade, from the Monte Real Club de Yates; and Unus from the Real Club Náutico de Vigo, led by Luis Manuel García.

The Portuguese accent of the Repsol Trophy podiums was put by Frederico Lopes’ Margem do Azul III who, wearing a Monte Real pendant, signed two victories in the two races held and won the overall ORC 4. El Fetch by Jorge Lago, from the Liceo Marítimo de Bouzas; and Don Pansa from SC Guimaraes, with Alberto Manuel de Sousa at the helm, were second and third respectively.

In the J80 one-design competition they signed the gold, silver and bronze, the Virazón by Miguel Lago, the Luna Nueva by Juan Luis Tuero and the Namasté by Luis de Mira. And in the Figaro class, the winners were Eva María Moreno’s Serralleiras, Juan de Arana’s Silleiro, and Santiago Meygide’s Erizana, gold, silver and bronze respectively.

This last edition of the Repsol Trophy of the Monte Real Club de Yates was, without a doubt, a very attractive competition for the crews, who were able to demonstrate their worth in different forms of navigation. The coastal routes from Baiona to Sanxenxo and from Sanxenxo to Baiona in the first and second stages were very similar, but the way of approaching them was very different, since the first day was upwind and the second almost entirely downwind.

The awards ceremony for the winners, which marked the end of the trophy, was held at the club’s facilities in Baiona, in a ceremony attended by Repsol’s Head of Marine and Fisheries, Inés González, on behalf of the event’s sponsor. Also present were the mayor of Baiona, Ángel Rodal; the sports councilor of the Valmiñorana capital, María Jesús Martíns, and several directors of Monte Real.

The next appointment with the regattas of the Monte Real Club de Yates will be on May 21 and 22 with the Baitra Children’s Sailing Championship, in which athletes from the Optimist class of the main Galician yacht clubs will compete.