REPSOL Trophy Spring Regatta 2016


The Vigo and Pontevedra estuaries will once again be the scene of the Repsol Trophy, the traditional spring regatta organized by the Monte Real Yacht Club with the collaboration of the Real Club Náutico de Sanxenxo and the Nauta Sanxenxo marina, which this year celebrates its thirty-ninth edition. The competition will be held on Saturday April 30 and Sunday May 1 with a sports program that includes two cross-country regattas between Baiona and Sanxenxo.

On the first day of testing, the participating sailboats must complete the coastal route that separates the Baionesa bay from the San Xenx coast. The regatta committee will start at three in the afternoon and the boats are expected to spend two or three hours, depending on the wind, until they cross the finish line. Once in Sanxenxo, the Pontevedra town yacht club will host the first of the two prize ceremonies scheduled for the Repsol Trophy. Awards will be given to the winners of the first stage in the different categories.

A day later, on the festive day of May 1, the crews will embark again to dispute the second and last stage of the competition. Ahead they will have a route similar to that of the previous day but with the start and finish points reversed, starting in Sanxenxo and finishing in Baiona. The stage will start after noon, around half past twelve, and will end with the awards ceremony for the winners, at five in the afternoon at the Monte Real Yacht Club facilities.

To follow the navigation of the boats and have a better view of the sailboats that participate in the Repsol Trophy, the public will be able to locate themselves in the surroundings of the Bay of Baiona, the Costa de la Vela or Cabo Udra, on the Morrazo peninsula. In Sanxenxo, the best location to enjoy the competition will be the beaches closest to the town and the Juan Carlos I port itself.

In the previous edition of the Repsol Trophy, held in May 2015, the Fifty del Monte Real Club de Yates, skippered by Rui Ramada, won for the second consecutive year. The Aceites Abril, owned by the brothers Luis and Jorge Pérez Canal, from the Real Club Náutico de Vigo, fought hard for victory and achieved a meritorious second place, leaving Bosch Service Solutions owned by Ramón Ojea, from the Club Marítimo de Canido, in third place. In the J80 one-design class, victory went to Guillermo Caamaño’s Mi Moneda, and Tutatis with Alberto Iglesias at the tiller won the Figaro class.